Learning to run…


I am learning to run…

I have just started week 6 of a couch to 5 K programme and I’m feeling quite chuffed. I’m also feeling it in my right hip and my knees!

At the end of last week, I ran for 20 minutes without stopping. If you had told me 5 weeks ago that I’d be able to run for 20 minutes without a break I would not have believed you! Today I ran for 18 minutes over three sessions – 5 minutes, 8 minutes and 5 minutes.

My motivation for following this programme? Well, in May/June this year I walked, with my husband, the Wainwright Coast to Coast route – 192 miles from St Bees on the west coast of England to Robin Hoods Bay on the east coast in 12 days. It is a challenging walk across beautiful landscapes; but we enjoyed every second of it, and felt fitter by the end. I wanted to build on the achievement and new levels of fitness but couldn’t justify spending 5 hours walking every day! I have always admired people who run, and even attempted to start running myself – on several occasions, all without success. I believed that I couldn’t run, and finding out that the blood supply to the lower half of my lungs doesn’t come from my heart (it comes from my abdomen!?) just perpetuated the myth that I can’t run. This is despite the fact that I used to play hockey at school – and thoroughly enjoy it.

I subscribed to the NHS Couch to 5K podcasts, put on my trainers and started – walking. Each session starts with a 5-minute walk. Everything is explained, and timed, and you build up very slowly so it is relatively easy to keep going. I am enjoying it, and feel a real sense of achievement and progress. My body does grumble – as I mentioned above, my right hip and knees are complaining tonight. I have taken some anti-inflammatories and hoping that after a good night’s sleep they will settle down. Finger crossed!

5 thoughts on “Learning to run…

  1. fitnessgrad says:

    Hello,
    Pleasure to meet you and thank you for stopping by my blog page and having a follow. I do appreciate the support! I hope that you will find my page of interest and I am eager to read more of your post!

    Shay-lon

  2. colleend374 says:

    Week 6 is when shit gets real.

Leave a Reply

